Vegan Dark Chocolate Cake with Cinnamon Vanilla Glaze

Image

Oh hey there.  How’s it been?

Oh–what have I been up to?  Please don’t make me talk about it.  It’s a boring story.  (second job)

This last year has zoomed by and the time of resolutions is already upon us.

As usual I started to think about the new year and what I wanted to accomplish.  A lot of thoughts about my physical health, my job, starting my own business, school, blah blah.  One morning I got into the elevator with a woman at work.  She looked at everyone in the elevator and said hello, and asked how we were doing.  She then explained her resolution was to talk to everyone she saw.

That made me think.  My resolutions were all focused on myself, and I almost never talk to my family.  I spoke with my parents and both of them said they needed to be in touch more, something that I’m at fault for.  So, my resolution for 2014 is to send a card for everyones birthday.

Besides me, there’s 14 people in my family, including nieces and nephews.  There’s 365 days in a year.  I can spare 14 days.  At least the few minutes it would take to write and send a card for that one persons day.  Hopefully this starts a snowball effect and I start talking to everyone more often.  At least replying to a few texts.  We’ll see.

For now, I’ll just focus on my other resolution of gaining five pounds on cake.

Easy.

Image

Vegan Dark Chocolate Cake with Cinnamon Vanilla Glaze

Cake:
2 1/4 cups cake flour
1/2 cup dark cacao baking powder
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 Tablespoons flax meal + 6 Tablespoons lukewarm water
1 cup warm strong coffee (or 1 cup soy or coconut milk)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla

Glaze:
1/8 cup vanilla non-dairy milk
1 3/4 cups powdered sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla

First, brew some strong coffee.  Separate 1 cup and set aside to cool (Tip: freeze the rest in an ice cube tray for drinks, or future recipes).  Next combine flax meal and 6 Tablespoons of water, blend with fork and set aside.  Mixture will take on the consistency of beaten eggs.

In a large bowl sift flour, cacao, baking soda and powder, salt and sugar together and blend

Add oil, vanilla and flax mixture to dry ingredients and blend slightly.  Slowly add coffee to mixture with a whisk until mixture becomes smooth.

Add cake batter to a greased 9 inch bundt and bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean once inserted.

Place pan on cooling rack for 10 minutes before turning out.

As cake is cooling, make your glaze.  Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and whisk together until smooth.

Place cake over rack with parchment or foil underneath to catch extra glaze.  Slowly spoon glaze over the cake while slightly warm.  Let the glaze sit for a minute between each addition.  Glaze cake as desired.

ImageImage

Enjoy without any regrets.

Cheers, friends!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Dark Chocolate Cake with Cinnamon Vanilla Glaze

Leave a Reply

