Coffee Chocolate Chip Cookies

Image

Two months into the year and this is my second post.  Not horrible, I suppose.

Growing up, whenever I’ve baked, I always made large batches of baked goods.  It’s a trend that I carried into adulthood.  It wasn’t until I started baking multiple times a week that I realized that my batches were way too big.  Two dozen cookies is even a lot for a group of four people.

A lot of you are probably naysayers to that statement.  Well, I’m a naysayer to your naying.

As part of my resolve to be more healthy, I’m going to start developing recipes in small batches.  I’m only one person living on his own.  What I bake I have to eat and I don’t want to eat forty cookies.

Well, I do.  I just know that I shouldn’t.

Image

I’ve talked about chocolate chip cookies before, and I’m not the biggest fan.  I like my cookies unadulterated from chunks, nuts, or bits of candy of any kind–for the most part.  Every once in a while, I just really want a chocolate chip cookie.  The best kind are larger than my palm, thick, and chewy.  So that’s what I’ve made.

These cookies are not going to be your midnight snack.  Coffee does not equal sleep.  Okay?  Don’t make the same mistake I did and eat two of these an hour before bed time.

DSC_0011

Recipe Note: Feel free to omit the instant coffee.  Also, I enjoy salt on my cookies, that’s also optional.

Coffee Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yields 6 jumbo or 12 regular size cookies

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup bread flour
2 Tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon instant coffee
6 Tablespoons butter, at room temp
1 large egg
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a mixing bowl, cream together butter, sugar, and instant coffee.  Add vanilla and egg, mix until just combined.  Add flour, cornstarch, soda, and salt.  Mix until just combined, add chocolate chips, and mix again.  You should have  a dry and shaggy dough.

Turn out dough into plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

The next day, unwrap your dough and divide into 6 or 12 equal pieces.  Roll into a ball and flatten slightly with the palm of your hand.  Place on a greased or parchment lined sheet about two inches apart.  Lightly sprinkle with coarse salt.

Bake at 375 degrees for 12-15 minutes for jumbo cookies, 10-12 for regular size.

Place on cooling rack for 15 minutes before serving.  Store in cool, dry place.

DSC_0018

If you eat this at night, you can’t say I didn’t warn you.  But it’s daytime somewhere, right?

Bake on, friends!

2 thoughts on “Coffee Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

